Nipissing First Nation voters will have six choices on the ballot for Chief.  

The list of people who accepted their nominations was finalized at the end of May. 

Those running for Chief include: 

  • Bob Commanda
  • Darlene Gingras
  • Scott McLeod 
  • David Romeo Miner 
  • Michael Joseph Penasse 
  • Jeff Stewart 

Twenty people are running for seven councillor seats:

  • Jesse Lyn Beaucage
  • Yvette Bellefeuille
  • Elaine Commanda
  • Jane B. Commanda
  • June Commanda
  • Rodney Commanda
  • Tyeler Commanda
  • Brian Couchie
  • Priscilla Goulais
  • JoAnne Jolicoeur Picard 
  • Natasha Lariviere
  • Joan McLeod Shabogesic
  • Joseph McLeod
  • Louise Penasse
  • Philip Penasse 
  • Ron Penasse
  • Mike Sawyer 
  • Daniel M. Stevens 
  • Eric (Rick) Stevens 
  • Samantha Stevens

Internet/electronic voting begins June 9th at while mail-in voting instructions are being included in voter packages, which are being mailed. 

There is also a couple of in-person voting options. 

An advanced poll will be held July 3rd at the Nipissing First Nation Garden Village Community Centre. 

Election Day is July 9th with polls at the Nipissing First Nation Garden Village Community Centre and Nbisiing Secondary School.